The Answer is Dropbox

I have multiple machines that I develop on.

When doing C# dev, I can use SVN and google code or assembla and keep things synchronized pretty well.

For Java dev, I have not had as much success.

For one thing, eclipse has a large number of frivolous files that I just don’t need checked in.

Also, I tend to leave out the bin directory when I’m checking in to SVN.

This apparently confuses eclipse.

Yes, I tried the svn plugin.

Hated it.

So, the answer is Dropbox for Java projects.

However, the way I install it is not the standard way.

The standard installation in Windows puts the folder under C:\Users\USERNAME\Dropbox

Not all of my machines have the same user.

So I put it in a custom location instead.

C:\Dropbox

This way all of my classpath and other garbage stays consistent between the machines I develop on.

Also, I’ve gotten more organized with how my Dropbox folder is organized.

I have a Libs folder with subfolders for the various external dependencies that I have, like lwjgl, slick, zxing.

I have a Projects folder with subfolders for the various workspaces. I similarly split workspaces by broad category.

Sigh. Getting there…

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “The Answer is Dropbox”

  1. thecodezone Says:

    Ahh, good call on the path. Probably ought to do that, although that still won’t help with the Mac.

  2. playdeezgames Says:

    There’s solution to that as well… stop developing on the mac. The mac is on a KVM with a windows machine anyway. Switch over to test, then switch back. Easy.

  3. Updating Minecraft Plugins « PlayDeez Games's Weblog Says:

    […] PlayDeez Games's Weblog A "Pure Joy" Ministry « The Answer is Dropbox […]

Leave a Reply

