Uncategorized

Deluxe Spicy Beans And Rice Recipe

You will need the following:

  • 2lbs dried pinto beans (I buy these in a fresh market in 9.5 lb bags for cheap)
  • 2 cups rice (I use the cheap rice from Wal-Mart, but anything will do here, as rice is typically pretty cheap)
  • 1 large can of tomato juice (typically 46 oz. I wait for them to go on sale somewhere and then buy a bunch)
  • 1 packet of chili seasoning (I go to Wal-Mart for the “Hot Chili Mix”. Yes, I could go and get all of the ingredients myself. This is faster and cheaper.)
  • 2 large yellow onions, chopped up (I usually get them at Wal-Mart, but whatever)
  • 2 large green peppers, chopped up  (I try to get the “reduced for quick sale” peppers, dice them and freeze them for later. I usually get 4 peppers for 99 cents)
  • 2 fresh/frozen tomatoes, chopped up (I grow these in the summer and freeze a lot of them for use later on. I just ran out, but found some weird brown tomato hybrid for 99 cents for 4 of them)
  • Minced garlic or garlic paste (I find this cheapest at the freshmarket. I now prefer the paste as it blends in better.)
  • 3 tablespoons of salt
  • Various forms of hot peppers (fresh or frozen or even dried, but not canned) to taste (I get mine from the fresh market, and this usually consists of jalapeno, poblano, and habanero. During harvest season, friends give me a variety of peppers that I use)

I typically make this for my lunch during the week. I start on Saturday and finish on Sunday evening.

Saturday morning, I measure out the beans to soak in a large crock pot.

Sunday morning, I drain and rinse the beans, put them back into the crock pot, add new water, and set to high for eight hours.

Sunday evening, I put the tomato juice plus an equal measure of water into the pot, and chop up the various vegetables (or add already chopped up frozen bags), the seasoning, the salt, and pretty much everything EXCEPT for the beans and rice.

Boil the mixture. Stir but don’t worry too much about it.

Add the rice and beans. Lower heat to simmer.

Stir every ten minutes.

Once the new mixture boils, turn off heat and let the rice absorb whatever other water it is going to.

Bowl it up in plastic containers for the week.

Eat all week.

Completely vegetarian. High protein and fiber. Has about 250 calories per 2 cup serving.

Super cheap, especially if you know how to shop.

Leave a Reply

