Uncategorized

HamQuest Hiatus Halting? Island Interloper Interruption Initiating?

The topic of this post reminds me of the 60’s Batman narrator.

HamQuest and I have a rocky relationship.

Periodically, I look back at the code base, and see a number of areas in which I can improve things.

I get inspired to do so.

After a while, the things that I want to do to make the game more configurable or better organized or generally more engineered pile up into a insurmountable list of issues to resolve.

Inspiration wanes.

Eventually I abandon working on it for a while, and move on to other things.

I imagine the curve plotted by my desire to work on HamQuest (or really, any long range project) might look something like a graph of cos(x).

Since there are endless cycles of this, the graph is really cos(x+k*2*pi), where 0<=x<=2*pi. And k is the number of cycles that have taken place already.

So, I appear to be heading for x=2*pi, which means the cycle will reset, and I will do some work on HamQuest.

Which is actually a good thing, because my “x” value for Island Interloper is rapidly reaching “pi”, or the minima in interest level.

Is it possible to have a few projects that hit peaks and valleys in interest level in such a fashion that I simply need to switch between them?

—-

So, why a decrease in interest in Island Interloper?

A couple of things.

1) There is a reason that HamQuest is not written in JavaScript(I tried… believe me!).  What does this have to do with Island Interloper? The problem with writing something in a scripting language is that it isn’t compiled.  This is also its strength, as long as it remains at a small enough scale.  Island Interloper has achieved a scale where it has become difficult to deal with.

2) I also don’t really want to invest the time needed to learn one of the many debuggers available for JavaScript.  Generally speaking, my “debugging” of JavaScript involves the heavy use of “alert”, and the FireFox error console, and that’s about it.

3) If the end goal of Island Interloper is to operate online in a multi-player scenario, a JavaScript single player game isn’t going to cut it except for prototyping how the game should be laid out.

4) I think that the “correct” client to use is SilverLight, with a swappable back end that can either be used to store data to isolated storage or through the web, and this layer would be abstracted so that I could use the iso storage one during development, and the web one in deployment.  Plus, C# has a real debugger.

Leave a Reply

