Uncategorized

As Usual, I Blame John Hattan.

Today, I was checking out the Chumby site, and decided to make a virtual Chumby.  After getting the embed tag from the generator, I realize that my virtual Chumby is nothing more than a swf file pretending to be a device.

And I remember that the Yahoo! Widget Engine can embed flash into it.

Two minutes later….

I have a Yahoo! Widget that loads up my virtual Chumby, which tells me that my life is 42% over.

Yes, the absurdity of a flash widget running inside of a virtual device created as a flash applet running as a widget on my desktop is not lost on me.

It runs quite well, actually.

The only issue I have found is customization.  Ideally, I’d like for anyone anywhere to be able to take my Yahoo! Widget, set a preference, and look at their own virtual chumby.  In fact, I think this could be a useful developer tool for chumby widget makers.

In my initial examination, it looks like the only information that identifies *MY* virtual chumby rather than somebody elses is the flashvars, which reads something like:

_chumby_profile_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.chumby.com%2Fxml%2Fvirtualprofiles%2FA7616CB4-387A-11DB-B926-001372292121&baseURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.chumby.com

I’m guessing that *MY* virtual chumby is identified by the GUID after the virtualprofiles part of the above.

so, i guess I could make a preference that allows the user of my widget to grab that information and plug it in to show their own widget, but I wish there were a more read-friendly way.

One thought on “As Usual, I Blame John Hattan.

  1. I am a bastard

    Good idea, though. I think the widget is a good idea. Just post a little instruction on how to find the GUID. The Chumby twitter widget works like that.

Leave a Reply

